Guitar Modes for the Pentatonic Scale (April 2013)

Guitar modes looks at the Major Pentatonic scale.

All scales have modes.

The C Major scale has 7 modes.
The C Major Pentatonic scale has 5 modes.

There are 5 modes of the Major Pentatonic scale.

The 5th mode of the Major Pentatonic scale, is called the minor Pentatonic scale. It is also refered to as the blues scale.

It is important to understand how to play fluently across the fretboard in all modes of the Major Pentatonic scale. This will enable you to overlay each mode starting in one chosen key.

Guitarmodes Session 19 on the Lesson page gives you the knowledge to do this. Do not think this is a daunting task, it is a good method and is explained using uncomplicated language.

28 Apr 2013